Global Scale of English (GSE)

Pearson responds to global demand for improved standards of English language teaching

In response to the demand for improvements in English Language Teaching worldwide, Pearson is launching a Teacher Toolkit to accompany its Global Scale of English (GSE).

A report released by Pearson, including survey findings of English Language Teaching (ELT) teachers and businesses around the world, highlights the challenges of teaching and learning English in the 21st century:

  • 90% of ELT teachers believe standards of English need to be improved [1]
  • 92% of employees said that English was important to their career progression but only 7% felt their English was good enough to do their jobs [2]
  • 90% of ELT teachers believe that a single, global standard of English is needed in order for standards of English language learning to improve [3]

The Global Scale of English (GSE) is the culmination of years of comprehensive academic research, involving over 6,000 teachers in 50 countries worldwide. It provides the most comprehensive way to date of profiling an English language learner’s proficiency and progress.

To accompany the GSE, Pearson is launching a new Teacher Toolkit, designed to improve standards in English teaching globally. This free online service helps English curriculum creators and teachers develop a consistent, connected and impactful curriculum focused on real-world language challenges. The toolkit includes a suite of English teaching resources, which includes over 1,600 GSE Learning Objectives, over 300 Grammar Objectives and 36,000 items of vocabulary. Data is searchable by English specialism, such as business or academic English, skill required and CEFR/GSE level, to facilitate personalised and tailored learning.

 

Tas Viglatzis, Managing Director of Pearson English commented, “English language skills are crucial for many individuals across the world but there is an urgent need for a global framework that reflects the practical application of English today. By helping course creators and teachers to identify proficiency more precisely and develop lessons that are tailored to specific goals, the GSE Teacher Toolkit will help to raise standards of English teaching worldwide.”

While many individuals learn English as a second language for pleasure or to broaden their cultural horizons, global business today increasingly demands proficiency in the language. Pearson found that English was deemed relevant for 80% of roles for which global employers recruit [4] and 92% of employees said that English was important for their career progress. However only 7% of employees think their English is good enough to do their job [5], highlighting a real need for improvement in English that will benefit global business.

Download the resources from teacher toolkit

About the Global Scale of English

The Global Scale of English (GSE) is a standardised, granular scale which measures English language proficiency. Unlike some other frameworks which describe attainment in broad bands, the Global Scale of English identifies what a learner can do at each point on the scale across speaking, listening, reading and writing skills.

The scale is designed to motivate learners by accurately demonstrating step-by-step progress. Using the Global Scale of English, teachers can match a student to the right course materials to suit their exact level and learning goals.

The Global Scale of English serves as a standard against which English language courses and assessments worldwide can be benchmarked, offering a truly global and shared understanding of proficiency levels. Visit English.com/gse to learn more.

divider
  1. ^ GSE Teacher Toolkit usage survey, 2016 (N=235)
  2. ^ Pearson English Business Solutions and CEB, Measuring the continuing impact – Business English as a prerequisite for global business, 2015
  3. ^ GSE Teacher Toolkit usage survey, 2016 (N=235)
  4. ^ Pearson/LinkedIn survey, 2014
  5. ^ Pearson English Business Solutions and CEB, Measuring the continuing impact – Business English as a prerequisite for global business, 2015

全球英語水平測試標準 (GSE)

回應全球提高英語學習標準的需求──
Pearson Global Scale of English Teacher Toolkit

如何準確地評估學習者的英語水平,從以制定更有效的學習方案?如何讓英語學習更加配合實際需要?如何能有效地幫助學習者提高英語水平?這些問題始終困擾着眾多英語教師。

因應全球對改善英語教學的需求,培生推出配合全球英語水平測試標準── GSE, Global Scale of English 的教師工具包。GSE 提供全面的方法,評估英語學習者的專業程度與學習進度。

培生開展的一項研究中,包括了對全球英語教育 (English Language Training) 教師和公司的調查結果,報告顯示了英語教學在 21 世紀面臨的挑戰:

  • 90% 的英語教師認為英語水平需要進一步提高 [1]
  • 92% 的在職者認為英語對於晉升非常重要,但僅有 7% 認為其英語水平足以應付工作需要 [2]
  • 90% 的英語教師認為為了提高英語學習水平,需要有一個全球性的英語標準 [3]

全球英語水平測試標準 (GSE) 是綜合多年學術研究的寶貴成果,包括了全球 50 個國家逾 6,000 名教師參與的研究專案。

為了配合 GSE 的使用,培生推出全新的教師工具包,以提高全球英語教學標準。這項免費的線上服務有助英語課程設計者和教師針對實際學習需要,設計具有連貫性的高效的課程。工具包包含一系列英語教學資源,其中包括超過 1,600 個 GSE 學習目標、300 多個語法目標及 36,000 個詞彙。資料可按類別進行搜索,如商務英語或學術英語,也可通過所需技能或 CEFR/GSE 水平等進行搜索,以滿足個人學習需要。

 

培生全球英語事業部董事總經理 Tas Viglatzis 表示:「掌握英語運用在全球各地顯得日益重要,目前正迫切需要一個能評定英語實際應用水平的全球框架。GSE 教師工具包通過幫助課程設計者和教師更準確地評估學習者的水平,並針對具體目標設計課程,有助於提高全球英語教學水平。」

培生大中華區教育資源董事總經理 Steven McGill 表示:「良好的英語水平被視為提升工作前景的有效途徑。大部分英語學習者表示晉升是他們學習英語的重要原因, 他們認為更好的英語水平可, 令他們的年薪得到較大增幅。自出版《朗文英語詞典》及《新概念英語》開始,培生在中國展開支援英語培訓已有超過 30 年的歷史。隨着全球英語水平測試標準 (GSE) 的推出,我們可進一步幫助老師和學生評估學習效果及提高學習成效, 讓中國的英語學習者可更輕鬆地應付學業或工作上的挑戰。」。

儘管不少人基於個人興趣或開拓視野而學習英語,但無可否認,今天的跨國企業對英語水平的要求越來越高。培生進行的研究顯示,跨國公司的 80% 招聘職位與英語相關 [4];92% 的在職者表示英語對工作前景十分重要,但僅有 7% 的在職者認為其英語水平足以應付工作需求 [5],上述情況正好切實地反映了提高英語水平的實際需要。

下載 Teacher Toolkit 內的資源

關於全球英語水平測試標準 (GSE)

全球英語水平測試標準 (GSE) 是一項精準可靠的標準化英語水平評估標準,有別於其他框架對學習者的水平作籠統的描述。全球英語水平測試標準可準確評估學習者在聽、說、讀、寫四個範疇內所達到的水平。

全球英語水平標準通過分步驟準確展示學習進度,提高學習推動力。教師可根據學生的語言水平和學習目標,安排恰當的教材。

全球英語水平測試標準是全球英語課程與評估標準,可使教師和學生對其英語水平有全面的瞭解。詳情請瀏覽 English.com/gse

divider
  1. ^ 根據培生公司 2016 年進行的 GSE 教師工具包使用調查,2016 年(N=235)
  2. ^ 培生英語商業解決方案與 CEB,《衡量持續影響——商務英語作為跨國公司招聘的先決條件》,2015 年
  3. ^ 根據培生公司2016年進行的 GSE 教師工具包使用調查,2016 年(N=235)
  4. ^ 培生/LinkedIn 調查,2014
  5. ^ 培生英語商業解決方案與 CEB,《衡量持續影響——商務英語作為跨國公司招聘的先決條件》,2015 年