About BTEC qualifications

Real skills for the real world

The world's most successful, best-loved applied learning brand, Pearson’s BTEC qualifications has been engaging learners in practical, interpersonal and thinking skills for over 30 years.

Designed to meet the needs of employers, BTECs are work-related qualifications for learners taking their first steps into employment, progressing through their careers or planning to enter university.

1.7 million students worldwide are registered on BTEC programmes.

BTEC Higher National Diplomas (HND)

HNDs provide access to higher education, often directly into the 3rd year of a university degree programme. They are also a robust platform for progression to, or within employment, or as a starting point for study toward professional body recognition.

HND programmes are recognised and accredited by the Qualification and Credit Framework (QCF) in the UK with level 5 QCF qualification, which is comparable to Associate Degree level in Hong Kong. Upon completion of these programmes, students can choose to enter local or overseas universities to further their study.

BTEC Higher National Certificates (HNC)

Students who achieve their HNC can progress to higher education, often directly into the 2nd year of a university degree programme. They can also move into a HND Level 5 course, which offers a greater level of specialisation in their chosen sector.

Additionally, HNCs provide opportunities for career progression and professional development for those already in employment.

BTEC National Certificates / Diplomas

BTEC Level 3 are specialist qualifications that give students the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to enter higher education or employment. They are ideal for those who have a clear view of their future career.

BTEC International Level 2 Certificates / Diplomas

These qualifications are designed for 14 – 16 year olds who wish to explore a work-related vocational qualification or specific industry area. BTEC International Level 2 students can go on to further study at Level 3, such as BTEC Level 3 qualifications.

Disciplines of BTEC programmes

  • Applied Science
  • Art & Design
  • Business Management & Service
  • Engineering
  • Travel, Tourism & Transportation services
  • Sport, Leisure & Recreation
  • IT & Computing
  • Languages
  • Performing Arts & Music
  • Land & the Environment
  • and more…

New-look certificates

Pearson has a new logo and, from January 2017, this will appear on all our certificates. You can view samples of our new certificates below.​


For more information about BTEC qualifications, please go to qualifications.pearson.com/btec.

Please call +852 3181 0100 or email pqs.internationaleo@pearson.com for any enquiries.